top of page
Search

How to live sustainably at home during Coronavirus.

Updated: Jun 17, 2020

I was realising that all of the goals I started setting few months ago about reducing my waste and be improve my habits could go to the bin, as I was feeling really frustrated about what was going on in the world with COVID 19.

Groceries is an unhappy activity for me, as I feel like I am going to a fight, as I amshopping without thinking too much, don't touch a lot of things, dont come in close contact with people and packaged products tend to feel 'safer' than unpacked. I end up washing and wiping each product as if I abhor everything. That's unhealthy but living in lockdown more than 1 month now, it seems that crazy is the new normal.


I look back on what I did over this last month while I am working from home and have more time for myself. Since I was in primary school, back in Greece, summer holidays last 3 months and my only worries were: how many ice creams I ate or how to pass my summer english classes.


Reflecting on my new habits, I decided to write few things of what I do that might be helpful or motivate someone to do something. It might not be something that you haven't heard but it might be time for motivation.


Set up a daily programme

It is very easy to lose motivation but what I try to do is write on my daily calendar few things. Such as, what I need to do at work, practice Spanish, design or draw, do online courses and exercise. It doesn't have to be big even if you write tidy up my wardrobe is enough for a start.


Natural light

I work with as much as natural light as I can and save electricity consumption.


Save water

Now that we don't have anywhere to go we do laundry less often. Most of my laundry is either towels, bedding and sportswear.


Exercise

You can go for a walk if you don't like workouts. If you aren't in the mood to run you can watch endless online classes with your gym instructors.


Meditate

I am not really an expert in medidation but is something that I have been introuced through my yoga classes. I managed to do it few times alone from 2 to 10 minutes and it felt so good.


Stay healthy

I tend not to eat a big variery of fruits, therefore I prefer to make smoothies.

Update: When fruits are smashed produced glutose, so consume in moderation.

If you are into gardening save few seeds and create few plants.





Check your wardrobe

Maybe is time to give away things we no longer wear? As I moved recently to another flat, I unpacked my clothes and I kept few things aside for charity or recycle once things get back to normal.


Purchase in moderation

If you decide to make a purchase don't get distracted from loads of emails of free shipping and discounts that you probably don't need. One way is to unsubscribe from their email list or check for few missing basic pieces that you are missing from your wardrobe.


Shop local

Shop local is another way to make your orders count but you can also order gifts for friends and post it to them. (Isolation - Birthday presents 0 - 1).


Do this online course you always postponed

After 4 years I managed to watch few online courses of subjects that I love through Coursera. There are loads of webinars and online content you can start from today!


Start a new language

You can start a new language. I started learning Spanish recently but I am still using the Duolingo app (not sponsored) which gives the opportunity to practice daily for a few minutes.


Maintain your skills


Drawing: It is easy to get carried away from work and other art projects that require to develop a different style. I have spend more than 10 years of my life drawing and in the last 2-3 years, I was too busy to sketch again even a simple thing. In few weeks I started to draw again. I was so happy that I never lost my skills but it is something that I will keep on doing after lockdown even if it is once a week.

Currently I am obsessed with oranges.



Practice a language you already now: Once you know a language you need to keep practicing. As I know German I tend not to practice it, but I managed to listen some of the statements of Angela Merkel. Better than nothing right?


Maintain your skills but also maintain your friendships

Keep in touch with your loved ones and people you might don't talk that often.


Tidy computer files - desktop

Apart from my main full time job. Being video maker and textile designer, grows the capacity of my files. I sorted out a lot of things, deleted what was no longer needed and reorganised all the files. I realised that some files were double, e.g. I have made endless job applications through the years or keeping too much. Don't forget to back up everything you own as we can't trust technology.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page